The Books of Unexpected Enlightenment

The Books of Unexpected Enlightenment

"Fringe meets Narnia at Hogwarts, with a touch of Lovecraft."

Useful Links

Roanoke Adademy of the Sorcerous Arts official website

The Roanoke Bookstore at the official website

Cast of Characters from the series.

Illustrations – some of the ebooks do not contain the illustrations. You can find them here.


The First Book of Unexpected Enlightenment:

The Unexpected Enlightenment Of Rachel Griffin

Who knew so much could go awry in one week?

Rachel Griffin has one goal. She wants to know everything.

Arriving at Roanoke Academy in the Hudson Highlands, Rachel discovers that her perfect memory has an unexpected side effect. With it, she can see through the enchantment that sorcerers use to hide their secrets.

When someone tries to kill a fellow student, Rachel investigates. She soon discovers that, in the same way her World of the Wise hides from mundane folk, there is another more secret world hiding from the Wise. Rushing forward where others fear to tread, Rachel finds herself beset by wraiths, embarrassing magical pranks, a Raven that brings the doom of worlds, and at least one fire-breathing teacher.

Meanwhile, she’s busy learning magic, making friends and, most importantly, finding romance!

Curiosity might kill a cat, but nothing stops Rachel Griffin!

Read First Four Chapters online for FREE

   Amazon Print  Amazon Kindle  Barnes and Noble Print  Barnes and Noble Nook 


The Second Book of Unexpected Enlightenment:

The Raven, The Elf, and Rachel

Before coming to Roanoke Academy, Rachel Griffin had been an obedient girl–but it is hard to obey the rules when the world is in danger and no one will listen.

Now, she's eavesdropping on Wisecraft Agents and breaking a great many regulations. Because if the adults will not believe her, then it is up to Rachel and her friends–crazy, orphan-boy Sigfried the Dragonslayer and Nastasia, the Princess of Magical Australia–to stop the insidious Mortimer Egg from destroying the world.

But first, she must survive truth spells, fights with her brother, detention, Alchemy experiments, talking to elves, and conjuring class. Oh, and the Raven with blood-red eyes continues to watch her. It is said to be the omen of the Doom of Worlds. Will her attempts to save her world bring the Raven's wrath down upon her?

And as if that is not bad enough, someone has just turned the boy she likes into a sheep.

   Amazon Print  Amazon Kindle  Barnes and Noble Print